• Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

Hardik Pandya’s World Cup Exit: Prasidh Krishna Joins India’s Squad

India’s journey in the ongoing Cricket World Cup has encountered a significant setback as star all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been ruled out of the tournament. Pandya sustained a left ankle injury during India’s match against Bangladesh in Pune, forcing him to miss the remainder of the competition.

In light of Pandya’s unfortunate injury, his place in India’s squad will be filled by Prasidh Krishna, a promising fast bowler. The inclusion of Krishna was approved by the tournament’s event technical committee, marking a significant turning point in his career.

ALSO READ:Amid Escalating Gaza Conflict, US Diplomat Meets Arab Leaders to Push for Ceasefire and Humanitarian Aid

While Prasidh Krishna possesses only 19 white-ball appearances for India, he has displayed promise, having taken 33 international wickets. Notably, he was last seen in international cricket claiming the prized wicket of David Warner and recording figures of 1/45 from nine overs against Australia just before the World Cup.

Krishna will now find himself in competition with established pace bowlers such as Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj for a place in India’s pace attack. His addition to the squad presents an exciting opportunity for the young fast bowler to prove his mettle on the world stage.

ALSO READ:UAE Offers Free Family Group Visit Visa for Children

The approval of India’s replacement player means that Prasidh Krishna will be available for selection in the crucial World Cup clash against South Africa, a fellow tournament frontrunner. India and South Africa currently hold the top two positions in the World Cup standings, making the outcome of their upcoming match in Kolkata of paramount importance for securing the top spot in the group stage.

The updated squad for India in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 includes Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *